Ikea Hack Office Update

Right before we moved, I needed to buy a new office desk. I would be switching from working in an office to working from home. Since I knew we’d be moving a lot, I didn’t want to spend money on nice furniture and have it get ruined. Once we got it here and unpacked, I was kind of kicking myself for getting such cheap furniture at Ikea when I didn’t really like it that much. It looked like something out of a college apartment. Here is the desk I bought and a matching red file cabinet: Ikea Linnmom/Adils Table

Here it is before:

wpid-wp-1400534583840.jpeg

I knew I wanted to do something different with my office, but I didn’t want to spend a ton of money. I had also just purchased the cheap ikea furniture about a month earlier, so I didn’t want to feel like I wasted money. So instead I decided to paint it. I walked around Lowe’s for a bit looking at spray paint options, but just didn’t really love any of the colors. As I was walking out I saw the Pantone paint color section, with Radiant Orchid sample paints set out. I fell in love with the color and decided it was the perfect girly color for my office inspiration. I grabbed one of the samples and a quart of this primer that coated right over the metal/sheen of the legs and file cabinet with no sanding needed.

wpid-wp-1400534238427.jpeg wpid-wp-1400534238423.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I decided to do a color block style on the legs, half white and half radiant orchid. After my primer dried I measured all the legs and used painters tape to wrap around the legs. It probably took 3 coats of the color to coat everything nicely without streaks. After painting, I brought everything back upstairs and started to put it all back together. After I got it all back in place, I realized how easily the paint scratched off, so I still have to go buy a sealant to protect the paint from scratching off. But, other than that I really love the color and I am much happier with my Ikea furniture now that I was after I bought it. They still aren’t the most elegant pieces of furniture ever, but they will do for now. Eventually I would like to find (or maybe build) a nicer, more sturdy desk. Here is what it looks like now: wpid-wp-1400523736361.jpeg wpid-wp-1400523933379.jpeg wpid-wp-1400523736350.jpeg wpid-wp-1400523736344.jpeg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I absolutely love this!!!!!!!!

    1. mrslaurencameron says:

      Thanks! I am so in love with the new colors. So glad I painted everything instead of buying new furniture.

Leave a Reply

