My Capsule Wardrobe

wpid-2014-09-16-02.53.52-1.jpg.jpegOne of my favorite bloggers posted her own capsule wardrobe and I loved the idea. I am one of those girls who buys clothes, puts them away, stands in the closet in the morning and thinks “hm, I have nothing to wear”. It is a problem. I have so many clothes, but nothing to wear.

Once I went through my wardrobe using the capsule wardrobe concept I realized it is totally doable. The idea is, you go through your entire wardrobe, season by season, and pick out 37 pieces to set aside as your entire wardrobe for that season. Your pieces should include tops, sweaters, jackets, pants, skirts, dresses, and shoes. I did not include shoes this first time because, well, I really do not leave all that much. As someone with an in home office, the need for shoes is minimal.

wpid-2014-09-16-02.52.11-1.jpg.jpegI started out by pulling everything, literally everything, out of my dresser and closet. Then I made 4 piles. Pile 1: love it. These are my can’t live without items like jeans, a good tshirt and a fun/casual dress. I do want to note that I did not include cami’s in my count because I think of that as more of a base layer or undergarment than wardrobe. Pile 2: I like this a lot, but I’m not sure if it fits within the season. Fall in the south is a tough one to keep a limited wardrobe. Temps can vary between 90º and 50º within the months of October – December. So, instead of just adding more to my count, I decided to make a back up pile in case of cold weather. This pile mainly consists of long sleeve shirts and sweaters, in case my daily wardrobe gets too lightweight for the weather. Pile 3: eh, I love xx about it, but it’s just not right. This is my pile of random tshirts and things that I like, but don’t love. I don’t want to get rid of them just yet, but they certainly wont make it to the daily rotation. Some of these items are more sentimental than fashionable. And finally, pile 4: donate. This pile is obvious. These are the items that have managed to sneak by in my closet even though I don’t particularly like them or they just don’t fit anymore.

At the end, my love it pile included 25 items. So I guess I could have put the backup sweaters in my wardrobe, but I”m going to keep them in my backup rotation for now. At this point you can also make a list of items you may need/want to add to your love it pile. I could go on and on about the trendy items I would love to include in my closet, but realistically, I do not need anything. Remember, my goal in this is to quit shopping.

I have also decided that if, at the end of  this season, I do not wear certain items in my “eh” pile, that I will donate them. Some things will stay… because I just can’t get rid of them.

Here are some of my favorite pieces that have made the cut:

capsule-wardrobe

 

Leave a Reply

