Capsule Wardrobe Winter

It’s almost time to switch out my fall wardrobe for winter. The weather has (finally) started to cool down so it’s time to put away the skirts and tshirts. I was going to try to wait until the end of November to set up my winter capsule wardrobe, but I’ve been asked to come up with a Christmas list… so I decided the best way would be to go through my wardrobe and see what I actually need.

I may end up going over the 30 whatever odd pieces from the original blogger, but winter seems to utilize almost all of my wardrobe. I have 4 pairs of pants, 3 heavy sweaters, 3 cardigans, 4 lightweight layering sweaters, 2 long sleeve shirts, 2 tshirts, 4 hoodies, 2 blouses, 2 flannel, and 4 button up shirts for a grand total of 30 items. This does not include shoes. Winter shoes I have include tennis shoes, tall brown boots, 2 pairs of flats, and a pair of black heeled booties. The booties are a little more dressy, so they don’t get much use.

There are a couple items I think I am missing from my wardrobe, and one I would just like to add. The first thing I am missing is a white layering long sleeve tee. I like this one from Aerie because the bottom hem is rounded. It’s kind of my latest obsession.

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 1.04.28 PM

The next thing I have been trying to find for over a year. Well, I guess not so much “find” as “stop being a cheap ass”. That is a vest. I’m undecided between a quilted vest and a down/puffer vest. I included this in my fall wardrobe and I just never ended up getting one. I’m loving this polka dot one from Macy’s.

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 1.08.16 PM

Another thing I’d like for winter is a pair of casual ankle booties. I have black ones with heels, but I always feel like they are dressy and don’t wear them much. I also want something without a heel, or much of one. Also I want something tall enough I can still tuck my jeans into them and wear socks. I tend to be more of a brown leather girl, and really love these.

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 1.11.36 PM

 

My “I don’t really need but I want” is a pair of cozy slippers. There are so many from UGG that are cute, but I am cheap. So, these work just fine.

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 1.14.55 PM

 

Below are a few of the items that made it into my winter wardrobe. Fall in the south is probably my favorite. I get to pull out all my scarves and cute long sleeve shirts and I don’t sweat my face off stepping outside. We can leave the windows and patio door open all day and get a nice breeze in the house. I don’t like being cold, but I am definitely happy it is not 100º anymore! capsule-wardrobe-winter

Leave a Reply

