IVF

It’s been a long and exhausting road trying to get pregnant these last few years. We’ve tried just about everything and have spent so much time focusing on having a family and frankly, we’re exhausted. I can’t do any more shots, any more doctor visits, any more blood work, and any more disappointment. It is time for us to close this chapter in our lives and move forward.

Many of you know, we decided to give it one last shot and do IVF. This would be our all-in, hail mary pass and final round of medical intervention. Forever. Seriously. As you know from my previous post we found out that I have a low ovarian reserve and that my time is quickly coming to an end, whether I am ready or not.

So, I flew home to do IVF at a clinic there. When I started with the meds I was ready. Ready for it to be over and ready to find out what path our lives were about to take. Now that it’s over, I am not so ready. But that is a different story. For now, I will tell you about the process of IVF from a medical and emotional standpoint.

The meds are hard. I was on the highest dosage of Follistim and Menepur possible in order to get as many eggs as possible. Every night at 6PM it was time to mix the meds and inject them into my stomach. This happened for two weeks. For the first week of meds I would go in to the office every other day for blood work and an ultrasound to monitor the growth of my follicles and make sure my hormones were at the right levels. Every office visit meant a possible adjustment in meds based on ultrasound and lab results. The following week I went in every day for monitoring. My stomach was lined with bruises and spots from all the injections. My arms were bruised and tender from all of the blood work. Sometime during the second week they added a third injection, Ganarilex. This stops your body from ovulating and releasing those eggs too early.

I wish I could explain how taxing it is to have 3 injections every day, plus an ultrasound and blood work. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

After about two weeks of meds I was given one more injection, HCG, which tells my body it’s time to ovulate. Exactly 36 hours later it was time for retrieval. I was anxious. Did my follicles grow enough to get a lot of eggs out? How many follicles actually contained eggs? What if there is none?

Retrieval is an interesting process and I am going to leave that for it’s own post…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sue says:

    All I can say, is that you’re an amazing young woman. I’ve known you all your life, but I wasn’t a big part of it. I don’t know you as well as I would like to. I read some of your postings and they brought tears to my eyes. I wish you every happiness & you and Travis are in my prayers. You are such a strong person…you will get threw anything that comes your way. Love you Laur❤😘

Leave a Reply

